How to Delete Snapshots

      No Comments on How to Delete Snapshots

How to Delete Snapshots

After a successful application upgrade on TGLAB-WSUS01, we no longer need to save the previous state of the VM and can remove the checkpoint. This step can be easily missed, but it’s important to remove the snapshot and not leave it out. To remove the checkpoint, we simply right click on the snapshot we want to remove and select Delete Checkpoint. The checkpoint will be removed:

11-delete

If we browse to the location of the VHD, we can see that the AVHDX file has been removed and the contents have been merged with the parent (which is the VHD file in our example since we only had one checkpoint):

12-nocpfile

Also, if we open up the snapshots folder we see that the checkpoint configuration file and virtual machine saved state files have been removed:

13-nosnapshot

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *